## 4.-Members of the Eighteenth Ministry, as at Jan. 31, 19601

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Norg.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment <sup>2</sup>	Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio
Prime Minister  Secretary of State for External Affairs Minister of Finance and Receiver General. Minister of Veterans Affairs Minister of Transport Solicitor General Minister of National Defence. Minister of Trade and Commerce Minister of Justice and Attorney General Minister of Statice and Attorney General Minister of National Revenue Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Minister of Labour. Postmaster General Minister without Portfolio Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys Minister of National Health and Welfare Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources  Minister of Defence Production Minister of Public Works Associate Minister of National Defence	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker. Hon. Howard Charles Green. Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks. Hon. George Hees. Hon. George Hees. Hon. George Flees. Hon. George Randolph Pearkes. Hon. Grodon Churchill. Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton. Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton. Hon. Edgroc Clyde Nowman. Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness. Hon, Ellen Louks Fairclough Hon. J. Angus MacLean Hon. Michael Starr. Hon. William McLean Hamilton. Hon. Wulliam J. Browne. Hon. Paul Comtois. Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton Hon. Raymond O'Hurley. Hon. David James Walker. Hon. Joseph Pierre Albert Sévighy.	June 21, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 20, 1959	June 21, 1957 June 4, 1959 June 21, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1959 Aug. 20, 1959

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Any changes occurring between Jan. 31, 1960 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

<sup>2</sup> Appointee was not necessarily sworn in on date given.

Parliamentary Secretaries.—As provided by the Parliamentary Secretaries Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, the following Parliamentary Secretaries were appointed from among the Members of the House of Commons to hold office for twelve months and to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. In so doing the Government revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the war and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. In addition to his annual indemnity as a Member of the House of Commons (see p. 99), a Parliamentary Secretary receives \$4,000 per annum and is entitled to certain travelling and other expenses incurred in the discharge of his duties.

5.—Parliamentary Secretaries, as at Jan. 31, 1960

Secretary	Minister	Date of Appointment
PAUL MARTINEAU	Prime Minister	Nov. 18, 1959
WALLACE B. NESBITT	External Affairs	Aug. 20, 1959
RICHARD A. BELL	Finance	
WALTER C. DINSDALE	Veterans Affairs	Nov. 18, 1959
CLAYTON W. HODGSON	Transport	
Egan Chambers	National Defence	Nov. 18, 1959
JOHN C. PALLETT	Trade and Commerce	Nov. 18, 1959
THOMAS M. BELL.	Justice	
Marcel Lambert	National Revenue.	Nov. 18, 1959
L. E. CARDIFF.	Agriculture	
JOHN A. CHARLTON	Citizenship and Immigration	
ROLAND L. ENGLISH	Fisheries.	Nov. 18, 1959
RICHARD D. THRASHER	Labour	Nov. 18, 1959
EDMUND E. MORRIS	Postmaster General	Nov. 18, 1959
Yvon-Roma Tassé	Public Works	Nov. 18, 1959